Premiers at Western Springs on Saturday 30 April

The Ponsonby Premiers will be back at their Western Springs home this Saturday afternoon, hosting the neighbouring Eden side in the third round of the Alan McEvoy Memorial Championship.

After two rounds of the new season Ponsonby have recorded a win and a loss, whilst Eden are looking for their first victory.

Ponsonby are buoyant after their satisfying 33-0 victory over Te Papapa Onehunga last weekend. Eden, on the other hand refused to lie down for Grammar-Tec in the same round, eventually falling by 32-16, after trailing by 14-6 at halftime.

Ponsonby and Eden squared off in the opening round of the competition in April 2015, the blue and blacks dominated proceedings in the first half and led by 29-3 at the break, but came up against some stern opposition in the second stanza, eventually winning by 44-15.

Ponsonby’s head coach, Peter Leuluso’o made a handful of changes to the starting XV for this match from that which had started against Te Papapa-Onehunga. The pack includes Steven Savali, Phil Viane, Sam Slade and Willis Hopwood, and the backs will include Laki Tiatia and Keenan Masina. Romero Tagi will captain the side for the first time from hooker.

The Premiers kick off at 2.45pm, and the Premier Reserves at 1.00pm – both games being played on the main ground at Western Springs Stadium.

1.  Steven Savali; 2. Romero Tagi; 3. Phil Viane; 4. Sam Slade; 5. Jamie Lane; 6. Anthony Diack; 7. Willis Hopwood; 8. Presley Tufuga; 9. Laki Tiatia; 10.William Talataina-Mu; 11.Danny Tusitala; 12. Patrick Tausie; 13. Keenan Masina; 14. Freedom Vaha’akolo; 15. Charlie Hubert; 16. Willie Uili; 17. Alex Matapo; 18. Pale Pasina; 19. Waha Waitohi; 20. Campbell Woodmass; 21. Ben Meredith; 22. Joe Beckett