Seven Ponsonby players feature in the Auckland Mitre 10 Cup squad of 37 named by head coach Nick White for the forthcoming representative season.

All seven players have been involved in the Super Rugby competition in 2016, in addition to one with the All Blacks and two with  All Black Seven’s commitments.

Greg Pleasants-Tate returns to Auckland after his stint with the Highlanders`, and Vince Aso and Michael Fatialofa join the squad following impressive appearances with the Hurricanes. Patrick Tuipolotu, Blake Gibson, Akira Ioane and Rieko Ioane have all performed for the Blues in 2016, the latter two joining the All Blacks Sevens mid-season, and they will join the Auckland squad after the Olympic Games in Rio de Janiero.

The Mitre 10 Cup commences on August the 20th for Auckland with an away match to Canterbury.



Saturday 20 August - 7.35pm Canterbury v Auckland AMI Stadium (Addington) Christchurch

Friday 26 August - 7.45pm Auckland v Northland Eden Park Auckland

Friday 2 September -  7.35pm Southland v Auckland Rugby Park Invercargill

Wednesday 7 September - 7.35pm Hawke’s Bay v Auckland McLean Park Napier

Sunday 11 September - 4.35pm Auckland v Waikato Eden Park Auckland

Sunday 18 September - 2.35pm Auckland v Counties Manukau Eden Park Auckland

Sunday 25 September - 4.35pm Bay of Plenty v Auckland TBA

Saturday 1 October - 7.35pm Auckland v Otago Eden Park Auckland

Thursday 6 October - 7.35pm Auckland v Tasman Eden Park Auckland

Thursday 13 October - 7.35pm Taranaki v Auckland Yarrow Stadium New Plymouth



Charlie Faumuina (Papatoetoe)

Ofa Tu’ungafasi (Grammar TEC)

Sam Prattley (Pakuranga)

Marcel Renata (University)

Tom McHugh (Grammar TEC)

Isi Tu’ungafasi (Grammar TEC)

James Lay (Pakuranga)

Greg Pleasants-Tate (Ponsonby)

Kurt Eklund (University)

Patrick Tuipulotu (Ponsonby)

Scott Scrafton (Grammar TEC)

Michael Fatialofa (Ponsonby)

Liaki Moli (Manukau Rovers)

Ben Nee Nee (Pakuranga)

Jerome Kaino (University)

Steven Luatua (University)

Taleni Seu (Grammar TEC)

Siosiua (Josh) Kaifa (Manukau Rovers)

Blake Gibson (Ponsonby)

Sinclair Dominikovich-Murray (University)

Joe Edwards (Pakuranga)

Akira Ioane (Ponsonby)

Leon Fukofuka (Marist)

Jono Hickey (Grammar TEC)

Simon Hickey (Grammar TEC) – captain

Tyrone Elkington-MacDonald (University)

Calvary Fonoti (Manukau Rovers)

Latiume Fosita (Papatoetoe)

George Moala (Grammar TEC)

Malakai Fekitoa (Pakuranga)

Vince Aso (Ponsonby)

Rieko Ioane (Ponsonby)

Pasqualle Dunn (College Rifles)

Liam Steel (University)

Joe Ravouvou (College Rifles)

Lolagi Visinia (Suburbs)

Melani Nanai (Manukau Rovers)


Unavailable due to injury: Ben Lam, TJ Faiane, Lisati Milo-Harris