The Ponsonby Premier Reserve side has continued its impressive unbeaten run this season, defeating College Rifles last Saturday afternoon. The win saw them finish top of the competition table and earn the Tramways Cup.

Ponsonby edged their hosts by 32-29, scoring five tries, with Tyrone Ngaluafe bagging a hat-trick.

The first try of the match was scored by Roger Tuamoheloa in what was a simple move off the back of the scrum. From an attacking scrum five metres away from the College Rifles line, Pale Pasina detached, offloading to Tuamoheloa who crossed the line without a hand being laid on him. Robert Sanele added the extra two points, and Ponsonby had an early 7-0 advantage.

From the restart Ponsonby went onto the attack, Josh Hawkins initially being denied a try in the corner. A five metre scrum resulted, and Ngaluafe was on hand to barge over.

College Rifles responded a short time later, the left winger crossing.

Later in the half Ngaluafe scored his second of the match, the score advancing to 17-5, Ponsonby taking this lead to the halftime break.

The home side were first to score in the new half, adopting a classic forward drive to the line.

Three minutes later Ngaluafe grabbed the ball from a ruck that was metres away from the Rifles line, and charged over, recording his third of the game. The conversion drifted away, and Ponsonby had a 22-10 lead.

Charlie Hubert entered the game from the bench, and made an impact almost immediately. A breakout from inside the Ponsonby half, saw Hubert carve through the defence, and he had the pace to avoid the intending tacklers. Willie Gibbons converted, and Ponsonby now led by 29-10.

In the final ten minutes of the match Rifles scored three tries, two of which were converted, and a Willie Gibbons penalty goal ensure the Ponsonby victory.

The Premier Reserves will now head back to Western Springs Stadium next Saturday, this time hosting College Rifles in the semi-final of the George Nicholson Cup, the match kicking off at 12.30pm.



Tries: Tyrone Ngaluafe 3, Roger Tuamoheloa and Charlie Hubert

Conversion: Robert Sanele and Willie Gibbons

Penalty: Willie Gibbons