Premiers focus on University clash

Last week’s first round of the Alan McEvoy Memorial Trophy Competition produced a couple of intriguing outcomes, and none more so than Ponsonby’s 57-10 hammering of Grammar-Tec. Very few would have predicted that there would be a significant difference from the previous round which finished the week earlier, between the side that topped Pool B and the runner up side of Pool A. It has been suggested that Grammar-Tec underestimated how much Ponsonby has improved this year and that the form that they produced last week is a sign of their outstanding coaching and development. Ponsonby’s brand of rugby this year is extremely entertaining and exciting.

Ponsonby will look to continue this superb form in their encounter on Saturday afternoon when they host University at Western Springs Stadium. University battled to overcome Eden by 17-11 last week after leading by a narrow 10-8 at halftime.

Ponsonby have played University twice already in 2018, with the honours going their way on both occasions, both games being played at Colin Maiden Park. In the Waka Nathan Cup round back in March Ponsonby were too slick for the students, edging them by 27-20. Just over a month ago Ponsonby were commanding, overcoming some on-field obstacles, in their 28-25 win over University.

Ponsonby have named their strongest possible line-up to start against University, with the only change from last weeks lineup being Campbell Woodmass starting at halfback.

The blue and blacks are sure to encounter plenty of resistance from University as the students look to reverse the results of the two previous encounters, and they look to build their campaign to retain the Gallaher Shield.

The match kicks off at Western Springs Stadium at 2.45pm, with the two Development sides meeting in the curtain-raiser at 12.45pm.



1. Connor Halangahu

2. Steven Savali

3. Herman Huch

4. Moteiva Ngauamo

5. Jamie Lane

6. Nepia Fox-Matamua

7. Aleks Dabek (c)

8. Taina Fox-Matamua

9. Campbell Woodmass

10. Rocky Khan

11. Morrison Siliko

12. William Talataina-Mu

13. Patrick Tausie

14. Johnny Cooper

15. Jordan Trainor

16. Willie Uili

17. Brice Schilling

18. Waha Waitohi

19. T Jr Faalogo

20. Rilloy Suesue

21. Tili Puloka

22. Noah Mataia